CFP: NSF ADVANCE 20th Anniversary Special Edition

Individual and institutional transformation for social justice


Susan M. Shaw, Oregon State University
Rebecca Warner, Oregon State University
Sarina Saturn, University of Portland


The mission of the ADVANCE Journal is to provide a forum in which to publish peer-reviewed scholarship related to institutional transformation concerning inclusion, equity, and justice in higher education. We seek manuscripts that address systems of oppression, intersectionality, and strategies for resistance and change in all fields of inquiry, and especially in STEM-focused disciplines. The journal publishes articles addressing empirical, theoretical, and conceptual work, program evaluation and assessment reports, critical reviews of the literature and resources, and letters to the editor, as well as reader article responses. Institutional transformation research related to NSF ADVANCE projects is welcome.

The development of the ADVANCE Journal is funded through OREGON STATE ADVANCE, which is supported by the National Science Foundation’s ADVANCE Institutional Transformation Grant. The National Science Foundation ADVANCE program seeks to develop systemic approaches to increase the participation and advancement of women in academic STEM careers.

This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Cooperative Agreement HRD 1409171.

Submission Site

Click below to read the full set of guidelines and requirements and to submit your manuscript.

Submit to ADVANCE Journal

Mauscript Types

The ADVANCE Journal invites manuscripts from a variety of qualitative, quantitative and mixed research methodologies that reflect the journal’s mission to create a forum for conversation about institutional transformations.

All manuscripts should speak to structural and institutional transformation, specifically addressing the intersections of gender and STEM fields with other forms of social difference. Manuscripts may or may not be the product of ADVANCE projects, but they must address the outcomes of ADVANCE (institutional transformation towards the representation and advancement of women in academic STEM careers; the development of innovative and sustainable ways to promote gender equity in the STEM academic workforce; and contribute to the research knowledge base about the intersections of gender and other social identities within STEM academic careers).

Each manuscript should be original and not under review elsewhere. Manuscripts types can include the following:

  • Scholarly Research Articles (Empirical, Theoretical, and/or Conceptual) 
  • Program Evaluation and/or Assessment Reports
  • Critical Review of Literature and Resources
  • Letters to the Editor/Article Responses from Readers

Submission Requirements

In addition to a manuscript following the above guidelines, authors must submit:

  • A signed copy of the Disclosures form.
  • A bio for each author of 100 words or less.
  • When filling in the online form on Scholastica, you must select “add additional author” and fill in the information for every author whoes name should appear on the manuscript as an author. If you only add the corresponding author, the other authors may not be automatically included on the manuscript when published.

Review Process

Each manuscript, regardless of type, is first reviewed by the co-editors to determine its suitability for publication in ADVANCE Journal. If appropriate for the Journal, the editors will then send out the article for blind peer review.

Submission Fee

There is a submission fee of $10, which is a hosting fee to support the Scholastica platform.

Editorial Board

Jill Bystydzienski, Ohio State University
Hillary Egna, Oregon State University
Kelly Mack, Association of American Colleges & Universities
Melissa McCartney, Florida International University
Beth Mitchneck, University of Arizona
Idalia Ramos, University of Puerto Rico
Sue Rosser, Special Assistant to California State University Chancellor’s Office
Londa Schiebinger, Stanford University
Abby Stewart, University of Michigan
Adela de la Torre, President, San Diego State University 

Managing Editor

Kali Furman, Oregon State University